Seniors elected to Phi Beta Kappa

By Sarah Destin '14

On Feb. 12, 14 seniors were elected into the Epsilon chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, joining eight other seniors who were named last October.

Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest honor society.  In the two centuries since its founding in 1776, 17 U.S. Presidents, 38 U.S. Supreme Court Justices and 136 Nobel laureates have been selected to join the prestigious society of intellectuals.

Phi Beta Kappa membership is awarded based upon academic achievement in both the liberal arts and sciences disciplines. According to Society’s official qualifications, an ideal Phi Beta Kappa inductee “has demonstrated intellectual integrity, tolerance for other views, and a broad range of academic interests” during their four years of schooling. Membership to this illustrious society is an impressive honor: Across the nation, only about one college senior out of one hundred is invited to join the Phi Beta Kappa society.

The society was first established at Hamilton in 1869. Each year since its creation, a committee of Hamilton faculty and administrators elect approximately ten percent of the senior class to join Phi Beta Kappa. Requirements for membership include achieving a high level of academic distinction in a wide distribution of disciplines.

Phi Beta Kappa members typically have taken courses in five out of the six categories of: arts, math/computer science, sciences, social sciences, languages and humanities. Additionally, in three or more of these categories, students are required to take courses at the 200-level or higher.

The 14 seniors inducted on Feb. 12 are Charles Allegar, Jennifer Baxter, Kimberly Bogardus, Summer Bottini, Graham Boyd, Katherine Delesalle, Julia Gelissen, Isaac Handley-Miner, Robert Hayden, Christopher Richardson, Abigail Saks, Sunrose Shrestha, Jacob Taylor and Anderson Tuggle.


No comments yet.

All News